Lollipop Moments

Image result for our greatest fear is not that we are

Lollipop moments. One of my favorite Ted Talks is about lollipop moments.  Moments that have had a huge impact on your life.  We’ve all had them 🙂  We have also all had an impact on someone else’s life, whether we know it or not.

I’ve had a couple really big moments like this that redefined my life.

During the winter of 2005, I received a “Save the Date” card for my cousin Megan’s wedding.  She was getting married on the same day as the Beach to Beacon 10K that year.  Her card invited everyone to run the race with her and her fiance the morning of their wedding 🙂  (This was long before the race got so big that it needed a lottery to get in….sigh…lol).  I was so excited!  I wanted to run with them 🙂  Except I had one problem, I had not been able to run more than a couple miles before my raging IT band shot stabbing pain at my knee.

Six years prior, I was out running just three days after my own wedding when I was hit by a car. I was very lucky to have survived, but did have serious injuries.  It took me two years to get back to running again.  But, when I did get back to running, I had injury after injury.  My body had major imbalances and I was very uneducated about running mechanics and injury prevention back then.  I ended up with a really angry  IT band and continued to “run through it” until one day I could not even walk. I went to PT, but didn’t really understand how I had been injured and how important it was to do the work PT presented. So, needless to say, it came back.  At that point, I pretty much gave up on running.  I actually stopped exercising all together. On top of that, I had some pretty  heavy marital problems happening.  I ended up depressed and living a life without passion or purpose.

When I received the invitation to be part of the race as a way to celebrate Megan and Jason, I was so inspired and determined.  I got myself back into PT.  I was on a mission to fix my IT band issues and run that race.  And I did 🙂  That day was so amazing!  I enjoyed it so much and felt so good that I continued on to run my first half marathon just 2 months later.  I had never been a distance runner prior to that.

From there, I fell in love with running.  I have since gone on to run 11 full marathons and over 20 half marathons.  Finishing my first full marathon was one of the most empowering experiences of my life.  Endurance running changed me.  I gained new levels of confidence, empowerment, passion and ambition. It also became my therapy, my problem solving time, my alone time, my peace, my quiet, my happy place. This empowerment overflowed into all other areas of my life. I have raised thousands of dollars for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and The Maine Cancer Foundation.  I have made some very special friends….life long friends. I cannot imagine where I would be if endurance running had not become my way of life.  I am forever grateful for running.

I am also forever grateful for Megan’s invitation to run the Beach to Beacon.  I have never told her what an impact she had on my life.  I will be running the Beach to Beacon 10K this coming Saturday for the first time in 12 years, the first time since Megan & Jason’s wedding day.  And, as I re-watched this Ted Talk tonight, I wondered why I have never told her and thanked her.  So….THANK YOU, Megan!  Thank you for the spark that led me to finding my passion, finding happiness, making my physical and mental well-being priorities and for helping me inspire others and change lives.  You have no idea how HUGE that one little invitation was…well, I hope you do now 🙂  THANK YOU! xoxo

For those who would like to watch this great Ted Talk, here is the link: www.ted.com/talks/drew_dudley_everyday_leadership

You never know whose life you will change by your actions or words.  We are ALL LEADERS!  Please always remember this 🙂  You can never go wrong if you come from a place of authentic compassion and love.

 

Leave a Reply

