Positivity

positivity
Positivity.

People often comment on how positive I am. They often say “it must be nice to be so positive” as if it’s a gene I was born with. I will say, “YES…it IS amazing to be positive”! But, I haven’t always been this way. And, I still have moments, hours, days and sometimes even weeks of not being positive.

Being positive is WORK. It is INTENTIONAL. It has come from a lot of reading, workshops, reflection, manifestation, mindset work, seminars, alone time, counseling, life coaching, being around like-minded people, etc. It has come from a huge investment (on many levels) in myself and how I want to FEEL everyday. I am constantly working on it.

I want everyone to know and believe….you are WORTHY of investing in YOURSELF!  If you fall into the trap of thinking, “I was not born being positive. It’s just not in me” or “It’s not who I am” or “I don’t have the time or money”….it does not have to be this way.  All it takes is one baby step at a time.

I have allowed myself to stay stuck in certain things, life patterns, relationships, etc. for way too long.  I wanted things to change.  I would see a weekend workshop that I would want to take and I would not take it.  I didn’t have or want to spend the money, I didn’t have the time, I didn’t want to tie up an entire weekend in a class…the excuses went on and on.

One day, I finally had a shift in mentality.  I cannot tell you where it came from. I can’t remember if it was something I read or someone said.  But, I had this new mentality that if I paid for a class…it would be more meaningful and valuable to me.  I would WANT to learn, I would WANT to apply the information I learned….”I paid a lot of money for this, damn it”!  So, I did it.  I signed up and paid for a weekend seminar. That class was called Non-Violent Communication (NVC).  It had such a profound impact on my life.  I still look back on that seminar with such gratitude.  It began my journey of living from a place of Love, Empathy and Gratitude for others….and more importantly, for MYSELF.

Since then, I have put my mental well-being high on my list of priorities.  When I went through my divorce, I got myself into counseling immediately.  I still see my counselor monthly as part of my wellness plan, even though I have a high-deductible insurance and pay in full. I read self-growth books. I have participated in group and individual life coaching. I take classes….in person and online. I try to surround myself with positive, encouraging, like-minded people, I exercise. I eat healthy (most of the time). I have daily rituals….I invest in myself.

There is HUGE ROI and VALUE in investing time and money in yourself!

At the end of the day, you only truly have yourself.  If you don’t take care of YOU….who will?  And, if not now…when?  You HAVE to take care of you.  The alternative is keep on keeping on being negative and unhappy.  If you like it there….then that is awesome.  Enjoy 🙂  But, if you don’t….I hope you choose YOU 🙂  It’s ALL in your hands 🙂

In the past, I have said ” Just eat the damn chocolate”…now I am adding “Just spend the damn money on yourself”!

 

Leave a Reply

